This whole guitar modification thing is a bit harder than it looks isn't it!?

Right then. Basically I got the worst strat knockoff you could ever imagine. It goes under the same of a 'Crafter Junior' and you can see some pictures below. I think its originally from Argos if you needed some indication of the quality.

However, I got this thing totally free so thought I'd have a bit of a mess with it since I'm not going to lose anything.

I'm going to keep all of the electronics the same, I want to have a go at the body and setup mainly.

My girlfriend has been wanting an electric for a while so I thought it'd be a decent present to customize it for her.

So here's what I'm thinking, along with questions and problems I need helping with.

Oh, and before I start, can I say that I fully admit I'm a nOOb, so if I do say some thing stupid then don't bother posting a little rolleyes smilie or laugh at me, just answer the questions please

1) Sand down the body to the wood, then engrave 'Debbiecaster' quite large on the front, and maybe a little personal message on the back.

-----------What tool would I use to do the engraving? A dremel maybe?
-----------I'm expecting the wood itself to be plywood or something equally low quality. Can this be stained? Basically I want to avoid painting it because I know I'd make a ****-up of that.

2) Somehow get rid of the tremolo system. As you can see the trem arm has snapped off and I can't be bothered with it all so I just wanna get rid of the thing, or should I say just stop it havn't any effect on the tuning of the guitar. Its a cheapo system anyway so theres no point in trying to rebuild it.

-----------How the heck do you do that!? Just take off the back and have a fiddle?

3) Can I just take the neck off without worrying about the truss rod? I mean I'm not gonna leave it off for ages but maybe a week or so?