I've been playing guitar for about 7 years, and have never taken lessons. I played trumpet before that so I can read music but when I got a guitar I didn't really take the time to learn scales and where each note was. I mostly just learned chords and after 7 years of messing around with tabs I can play pretty well.

But back to the question, do most of you read music or do you just use tab? I'm thinking about going back to page 1 and getting a guitar book and learning all the stuff I should of learned when I first started.
I know both
tab i use more
but knowing sheet music allows you to learn more into modes and scales etc imho
I play other instruments, like trombone, so I can read music (Bass clef only). But not guitar music. I could probably read and play bass music off the sheet pretty well. Tabs are doin me fine for now, been playing for a little over two years.
Member #5 of the Official Conan O'Brien Club; PM Tom Trendy to join
you don't have to be able to read sheet music to learn notes, scales, chords, or modes.

I can't, and I know a good amount of theory.
Quote by Chaos Guitar
im great at sweeping but horrible at pinch harmonics

I play by ear/tabs. Reading music to learn scales isn't much different than looking at tab and reading intervals to learn scales.
I can do both but tabs are prefered as it is often much faster to show the fret then what is sharp or flat throughout the music and having to read. Music is just so slow unless you memorize it
I can do both but reading tabs is a lot easier. But knowing both means if I come across some sheet music being sold cheaply (like a Jimi Hendrix one I came across last week) and it's not in tab form, I can still use it.
I can read bass clef no problem, but kinda suck at treble, so I prefer tabs for guitar, either one for bass, especially with all those ****in ledger lines for low guitar
ne pvgnemvs