Ok my pinky has a mind of its own and it angers me.

Basically when playing songs like crazy train, or panteras cemetary gates, I noticed that whenever I push down on a fret wiht my middle finger, my pinky has a habbit of going up, away from the keyboard, and when I push down with my ring finger, my pinky goes down a little...

Its frustrating and whenver I play those songs I focus on trying to keep it right above the fret board, but its hard!!

I know a lot of people have problem using there pinky, ive been playing 6 or 7 months and i started playing without my pinky, and its a really nasty habbit.

Im just curious on methods everyone here used to stop this
It's not the problem so much with your pinky being curled up a little bit.. but more of the fact that your not using it. You NEED to get used to chromatics, using all 4 fingers. 1-2-3-4 up and down the fretboard. Example) if your playing a riff - fret 5-6-7-8.. then use your index for fret 5, middle for fret 6, ring for fret 7, and PINKY for fret 8. Alot of people get addicted to using their ring finger for these things, especially bends.. where a pinky should be used.
Quote by Overlord
It's not hard to be nice, but it's nice to be hard
It's sympathetic tension. You have to focus playing the notes slowly enough so
that you can keep your pinky relaxed and over the fretboard in case it will be
needed for the next note. When it curls up or straightens out in tension, it will
hurt your playing ability.

Practice slowly walking the fretboard 1-2, 1-2, 1-2,.... and 1-3, 1-3, 1-3, ... while
keeping your pinky hovering over it's own fret.
Quote by Carnivean