im a guitar player so im a crazy noob to bass. the bass player i jam with is somewhat slow for metal. if he plays with fingers what can help him speed up? and if he plays with a pick can he kinda alternate/tremelo pick liek a guitar player? what do most metal bassists play? pick or fingers?
It really depends on what sound he wants. I know a lot of metal bassist, particularly that i have come across prefer a pick because ( i assume) u get a much 'stronger and defined' attack, but there are loads of bass players who use fingers, to get speed on both will take practice (as with everythin). I personally use three fingers (aka Billy Sheehan) and hate picks (probably cos i' bad at using them, although i keep practisin for the added variety you can gain from learning both).

At the end of the day it depends what sound you or he wants.

Exercises i use to speed up are where basicly i mute the strings and run up and down in different timings to a metronome on each string working back and forth alternating strings, and jumping strings. The reason i mute the strings is because i find it easier for me to here when i make a mistake. That and i run scales which obviously helps both hands. I would presume the same apporach would work for picks.

I hope this helps.
I would recommend using a pick if you want to play stuff like Metallica, because the bassist mostly accents the music (plays basically the same thing in the background). For it to sound good, a pick is recommended.
good pick for metal music? use a dime or a nickel it'll make a scratchy sound, i use em if i play metal.
I got 99 problems and they all bitches
I trem pick, actually I cant trem pick better then our rythym guitarist.

To get faster, all you can do is practice practice practice.

You don't have to use a pick for metal, it's really what sounds better, I prefer the attack I get with a pick over using my fingers.