Ok, so I know a fair amount of theory, just not for guitar, as I've been playing piano and cello for a few years now. I don't know waht the shapes are specifically, and I thought it was just starting on each note of the scale, like in a minor shape 1 starting on A, shape 2 starting on B, 3 on C, etc., but that would mean 7 shapes, so what do I have wrong?
I'm pretty sure there are 3 shapes. There's the first, the minor third, and the fourth.

In the key of A minor, it's Amin, Cmaj, and Dmaj. I think... It may not be D major, but I know that Cmaj and Amin have the same notes.

EDIT: SD, I think he means the different scales you can use to play an A minor scale.

EDIT 2: Here's a really basic way to get the different shapes:

e|x|-|-|x|-|x|-|x|
B|x|-|-|x|-|x|-|x|
G|x|-|x|-|x|-|-|x|
D|x|-|x|-|-|x|-|x|
A|x|-|x|-|-|x|-|x|
E|x|-|-|x|-|x|-|x|

Every two x's in a row is a shape... it's kind of hard to understand, I guess.
Last edited by n0selfesteem at Jul 25, 2006,
EDIT: Ah yea, well, this applies only for minor barre chords

Well, theory is the same for all instruments, it doesnt matter what your playing Its how you apply it.

The most simplist Minor shape for a chord, is a minor barre chord, and they follow this "shape":

e|---|-X-|---|---|
B|---|-X-|---|---|
G|---|-X-|---|---|
D|---|---|---|-X-|
A|---|---|---|-X-|
E|---|-X-|---|---|

So if i wanted say, an Fm barre chord, i would play this:

e|--1--|
B|--1--|
G|--1--|
D|--3--|
A|--3--|
E|--1--|

I hope that answered your question If it didnt, ill try help more if i can.
Been away, am back