I have been a rhythm guitarist for 3 years now, and the only thing that is holding me back from being lead is soloing. HOW THE HELL DO YOU DO IT!!! I know the major and minor pentatonic scale by heart but how do does it work and how do you make it sound great???
that's the thing, be original and creative, make it up, if it sounds good, you win
Member of the "Marty Friedman > You" Club. PM apocalypse13 or altronataku to join

Gear:

ESP LTD DV8-R
Squier SG (Specs Unknown)
Kustom KGA-10 Ten watt practice amp
Marshall TSL 602

My JEM Build
Well, all you have to do is practice. What I like to do for learning solos is to do it a piece at a time. Often I'll cut out some unecessary notes. Then, after practicing enough, I'll play it with the unecessary notes. It's all just practicing.
Quote by leavemealone55
Well, all you have to do is practice. What I like to do for learning solos is to do it a piece at a time. Often I'll cut out some unecessary notes. Then, after practicing enough, I'll play it with the unecessary notes. It's all just practicing.

Everybody has their own techniques when learning a solo, what I do is memorize the notes, and then use a metrenome
I think the best way to think of it is that the solo is adding colour to the underlying chord sequence. So let's take a very simple chord progression:

C D G

Now a C chord is made up of C E G, if you were to play a B over this chord you would essentially create a CMajor7 sound (B being the 7 of the C Major Scale), because of this concept cyclic repetitive licks can often be used and not sound repetative at all because as the underlying chord progression changes so too does the actual sound being created.