Page 1 of 2
It was great. Being self taught, it was nice for a professional bassist to see how i am doing and give me some pointers in my playing. He's been playing 20 years, so really knew his stuff and was playing fretless.. nice..
Anyway, so i told him i was quite comfortable with my chops, but i wanted to be at one with the bass.. extend my knowledge of the bass, in so much as i could think ahead, visualise where i wanted to go and hear it before i play it. I want to brush up on some theory and learn some advanced bass theory. We went through some exercises for working the fretboard and the fingers, then went through a bit of rhythm, trying to play with groove (two great songs which he showed me to play for working rhythm are Lively Up Yourself - Bob Marley and Cold Sweat - James Brown).. Anyway, as it was the first lesson we really just went over a few bits and chatted about my playing etc.. he said he will work on a lesson ready for next time.. He also said he would "work me, dont worry". which is great. I asked him how my technique was and he said it was good, the exercises i had been doing are ones he would teach students.. it's now just filling in the gaps in knowledge and refining the technique.

Anyway, i walked out of there feeling really great and upbeat about my bass playing, and i can see a future now.. I was on a bit of a plateau, where i felt i wasnt getting better.. i upped my playing time to three hours a day but still felt like i needed a new direction..
but now i feel inspired again !

I am writing this really to see if others are thinking about taking some lessons after a long time being self taught, because if so.. i say go for it, dont hesitate.. it will be worth it..

Peace lads
Good job. :]

Quote by darknessfan
What the **** is the point of this thread.

If youdont have something nice to say then dont say it.
Quote by darknessfan

In your case, maybe learning how to read is a great thing?