Hi guys,

I've been playing for about 6 years now.. ever since I was a young sprout, I'm self taught.. I know bits and pieces of music theory and my chording is excellent IMO.

The stuff I've been playing seems like it'd be good for warm-ups.. but I was wondering.. what would really challenge me during my practice sessions?

The music I really love to listen to is old rock like the Grateful Dead or Led Zeppelin and newer jam bands like Widespread Panic.

Any ideas for a song for me to practice?

Thanks a lot people!
My gear:

MIJ Squier Stratocaster

Washburn WR150 Quilted Top

Oscar Schmidt Semi-hollow Delta King

Epiphone Hummingbird

Amps: Fender Eighty-Five
Deep Purple- Smoke on the water

Just kidding hah, Al di Meola- Medditerannean sundance(the one with paco de lucia)
Extremely hard.

Also some steve vai/satch stuff.
Quote by BigFatSandwich
it took you 15 consecutive hours of practice to realize that playing guitar makes you better at playing guitar. congratulations.

Quote by snowbert
SMOKE UN-DER WATER!!!

may be you should look at jason becker or classical music. there are lots of tabs in here.
Quote by guitar_god22
steve vai - tender surrender

Fuck yes.

After 6 years, Tender Surrender should be at a level where you can comfortably play most parts in a technical aspect, but still have one hell of challenge getting close to the emotion and desire put into the original song.

I think it's as important to mentally challenge yourself as it is to physically, of course the two correlate - but emotionally and mentally Tender Surrender is extremely challenging.

Some other songs of similar spirit are:

Joe Satriani - Always With Me, Always With You.
Steve Vai - Whispering A Prayer.
Steve Vai - Lotus Feet.
Joe Satriani - Midnight.
Joe Satriani - Day At The Beach.
Eric Johnson - When The Sun Meets The Sky.

And especially...

Joe Satriani - Cryin'.
Can you improv solo?
#2 Member of Fender Whore Club
Rig:
MIK Fender Strat
Traynor 40WR
EH Big Muff