Ok, I've been playing for a few months now and I'm looking for a new effect to pick up. I play metal, some prog, and well really anything around it. I'm probably looking towards some distortion of some kind but I'd like to know if there would be anything better getting than just a normal distortion pedal.
boss mt-2 metal zone
Quote by Duane_Allman
Your gayer than me, and thats pretty gay.
Quote by Twist of fate
If there's blood on the field, play ball.
[center]
The
e|--3---0---0--|
B|--0---1---0--|
G|--0---2---1--|
D|--0---2---2--|
A|--2---0---2--|
E|--3---x---0--|
You just lost.[/CENTER]
If you like metal, the Boss MT-2 Metal Zone is pritty awesome and cheap.
After you get a good distortion effect, your next step would probably be to get some kind of chorus pedal (the Boss CE-5, Electro-Harmonix Small Clone, Electro-Harmonix Polychorus and Digitech X-Series Multi Chorus are all good choices). Since you play prog, investing in an ebow may also be a wise decision. And tremolo (Boss TR-2, Electro-Harmonix Pulsar or the MAGNIFICENT Boss PN-2) is a personal favorite of mine, though I'm coming from more of a indie-rock/hardcore standpoint. But since you've only been playing a few months, you really ought to concentrate on learning how to play well first. It's hard to learn your scales when you've got wild swooping echo sounds coming from your amplifier. But hope this helps.
Boss BD-2!
"There's Jimmy Page, one of the biggest thieves of American black music to ever walk the Earth."
Thanks for all the reconmendations...I've looked at them on musicians friend and I just realized it gives you samples of how they sound. Kudos to UMadeMeRealise for all the helpful info, and I really like the MT-2...that death metal pedal sounded cool too but I didn't like the fact there's no knob for gain on it..but then again, what makes it death metal? Thanks again for the help.