Hello,

Id like to ask, would it be possible and if, how hard and expensive to mod the 5Watt Epiphone valve junior for each of the folowing

- Adding a reverb
- Adding an EQ (including presence)
- Adding another channel
- Adding master volume
- Increasing the wattage by adding tubes
- Adding external FX loop send/return

Now, to avoid being flamed, I don't plan to apply all mods to the amp, I will probably just hot rod the circuit (found some sites with that), or more precisely, I will ask my friend to do it, since I am not too good with electronics.

I just want to know what possibilities there are, just to know.
adding an eq would be the only thing you could do with simplicity as this would be connected directly to the jack input and would be the first thing in the signal path between your guitar signal and the rest of the amp, but then with the same effort you could just make yourself a pedal eq, or even by one if you're thatway inclined.

the rest of the projects involve desoldering certain parts of the amp and taking it apart. I believe that there is no preamp, ie the 5w junior is a power amp full stop (this is what i have heard) and therefore an fx loop (which sits between the pre and the power amp) wouldn't be doable.

A real reverb requires constructing one using a reverb tank (you can get them at smallbearelec.com) and is supposed to be easy, but i dunno, requires a bit of workmanship rather than electrical knowledge.
thanks a lot!

if it doesnt have a pre amp stage, wouldn't it be a good idea to build in one (tube of course)? it could have two channels + an EQ. I've heard that this amp has a lot of free space in the chassis, so it could be inside. Plus it could have a true bypass for the preamp...
Hm, would it be possible to add a preamp and make it lets say 20 watts?
Quote by Klayy
thanks a lot!