I'm a beginner guitarist, and have only been playing for a little over a month now. I was wondering if there are any simple yet effective songs out there that would be good for me to practice with.

I don't just wanna learn how to switch chords, but to use single notes as well. I know how to use Amaj/min, Cmaj, Dmaj/min, Emaj/min, and Gmaj, and can do the basic chromatic scale, E phrygian, and A blues.

PS, sorry if this is in the wrong forum -- I couldn't tell where to put it.

Thank you.
enter sandman - metallica

basic rhythm to the song and the solo is a good starting point if u wanna start soloing any time soon.

but u should tell us what music ur into before we recommend anything
on the CD The Poison, by Bullet for my Valentine, there's an intro with a nice beginner's solo. you need to learn bending, but it's not too difficult
learn nirvana songs there not too difficult or sex pistols its how john frusciante started playing when he was young and now hes a guitar god
try some ac/dc, most of it is built on basic chords. you could try the solos if you want, they're not that difficult
Quote by Sir-Shoelace
manliest string guage? barbed wire.

Founder Of the UG Slide Player's Guild, PM me If You're Really Feelin' Dem Blues

THE PIT
"better than your average psychiatrist"
seems weird how no1 is sayin blink182 or greenday cus wen ppl say they play em they get "flamed" er im quite a beginer guitsrist try playin things like lostprophets looked hard wen i first saw last train home but it easy and a good song also puddle of mudd She Hates ME nice easy song aswell (just some newer sugestions cus no1 ever puts em down lol)
Thanks a lot guys. Just so you know, I'm mainly into metal, but I do stray to other genres too.

Also, I have another question. When fretting single notes, where abouts should I place my finger? Should it be right behind the fret? That's what I do, but I see other people do it differently and I'm begining to think I'm doing it wrong.

Thank you!