I have an Ibanez Soundgear Bass. I've been playing bass for about 6 or 7 months now, and it's been a good starter bass. However, I played a friends bass, and the feel was completely different. His bass was the Ibanez just a step above mine. The main difference was the feel of the frets. I can get my Soundgear to have nice action like his, but whenever I fret a note, I hear a click, or a buzz.

So if I want to play a fast riff, you're going to hear some (at least) buzzing and clicking. I don't know about you, but I hate that sound. I like bass to be smooth.

Here's my question: what is my problem? Is it the action (which I have tweaked with endlessly)? Is it the truss rod? Is it the strings (which I haven't replaced, ever)? Is it the fault of the actual frets? Do I need a new bass?

I really need to be able to fret notes without that sound, though...I feel like a noob asking these questions, because I'm usually the one giving advice to noobs. If you could help me out, that would be great.

EDIT:

One more question...would making my bass fretless work?
Last edited by lespaul_rentals at Jul 27, 2006,
I like my basses to sound smooth as well and sadly my Ibanez sounds a bit clanky and buzzy every now and then so I usually have to adjust the action quite a bit...It works out though for me when I do a simple setup...

For you it may be different though, as tsurigi said, a new set of strings may help the problem, it certainly wont hurt...and you can also work on pressing down on the frets harder...sometimes when you dont fret a note hard enough it creates a horrible buzz like the one you describe...

<EDIT> Also, it could be that the frets arent all level or theres a slight problem with the neck relief but for this I suggest you take the bass to a professional and have them do a full setup of the bass to tell you the problem and fix it for you.