Well I have decided lately that when it comes to creating solos, I suck. So im trying to build up my technique and skill but its hard to find a starting point. How did you build up your solo skills? What did you learn, or need to learn. Scales would be the first on my mind, but I have a hard time building on them. Any good solos, or articles anyone could recommend to help me? What I am really trying to learn is composition. Can anyone help?
its really more your first thought than anything. the more licks you can pull out of automatic reaction, instead of platting, and just knowing what to hit and when, is more important than how many scales you know. what i did when i started playing with scales was just get it good and ripe in my mind how each and every note in the pattern sounded, and how they agreed with each other in each of my licks. then i just tried to play anything that came to mind while playing with a backing track , using that particular scale. it works if you do it alot
nothing left to write,

kevin
Play along with a backing track. Just a simple loop of drums and a rhythm guitar or bass. Then just start improvising. And I'd say start simple. Just use the pentatonic scale until you're comfortable enough making stuff up then mess around with other scales. Phrasing and melodic control are harder to master than scales (just my opinion, I'm sure others could disagree)
i started with the solo on the unforgiven.. i started there......sorry if its no help
Fighting for peace, is like screwing for virginity

Screw you Waldo, go find yourself!!!!