My friend wants to get a bass guitar and asked me to help him since Ive been playing guitar for 3 years. His budget is $200, he wants to play a lot of hard rock such as Motley Crue, Ozzy, Led Zeppelin, Nirvana, etc. I suggested him to get a better amp rather than better bass because of tone and the fact that a bass sounds better with more wattage ( usually ). Any suggestions of what he should do?
My Gear:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster
Epiphone Sheraton II
Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue
Teese RMC Picture Wah
MXR Carbon Copy
Keeley Modded TS9
Korg Pitchblack
Schecter Omen 6
Dean Performer Acoustic

Kudos to SX.

Good stuff. After that save up and buy a tube preamp. It will make up for whatever is lacking in tone with that setup
Member of UG's Keyboardists club. PM 4string-tsurigi to join.

Jimbo Wallace of the Godlike, Archaic, But Sexy Instrument Players. PM me to join.
For $200 you really can't get a decent rig, especially for hard rock. On occasion, you'll find a Fender Squier Jazz bass for around that price used (see Craig's List)--that's the best he can hope for in that range. Don't bother with Rogues and cheap knockoff basses--they may look flashy, but when you get them home, the intonation may be way off, the action may be too high to fix, and/or the neck may warp after a few months. Get a solid bass that has a good reputation. The Squier Jazz is a decent bass--it looks good, and it is versatile enough to tackle most forms of rock music.

As far as a bass amp--well, he'll have to save a bit more and get something that sounds decent. Crate, Peavey, Pignose and Danelectros all make small and cheap amps that sound good on a budget.

I agree that if you get a crappy amp, you get crappy sound. But I also know that if you buy a cheap bass with lousy action and tone--he'll lose interest fast. Get a good bass, get it set up professionally with good action, and he'll be very glad he did.