ive played a few gibsons [lp's, sg's, v's] but never an explorer and i love the shape, has anyone played one or own one that can tell me how it sounds compared to those three
MYSELF INFLUECE I

soo much n00bage
Quote by xX Maverick Xx
sorry to bust everyones bubble but lamb of god arent "hardcore" theyre death metal, and therefore metal.
I own a gibson explorer gothic. I use it more than my JEM, mainly because i always keep my jem in standard tuning and the floyd rose makes it a pain in the ass to play in any other tuning so i end up using my explorer for metal songs and anything outside of standard tuning.

I absolutely love it. It's got a nice deep crunch to it, and the cleans are good imo. Although I read a review on somewhere where the person said they didn't like 'em...must've had a crappy amp or something.
It's seems more metal oriented than an LP. The LP's tone has something in it (almost a bass) that isn't as perfect for metal. I'm NOT an expert. Judging solely from Guitar Center. Anyways, the Explorer has a ****ing awesome tone, it's extremely versatile from what I found, even able to get some twangy, near Fender tones, while being beautiful for metal. However, it's still a Gibson, and with the Gibson issued humbuckers, it won't get that vicious, different tone an EMG set gets. Hetfield's Explorer's have EMG's.

Compared to an SG, it sounds meatier, perhaps less treble I suppose. An SG is just so similar to an LP, the Explorer is similar to both in ways. I think Explorers have fantastic personality. Try one out at Guitar Center. It's rewarding.
Last edited by oddling8 at Jul 30, 2006,
I played one and the action was a catastroph, the strings were so high it was nearly impossible to play. The overall feel I got from it was sloppy, the knobs felt cheap as did the pickup selector, the fretboard seemed weirdly placed on the neck...
I bought an SG special faded and liked the feel, playability and sound much better!