Hi,
I've been playing guitar for a while now and want to get a new guitar. I want to get a raw more powerful tone, something suitable for attempting really heavy metal riffs and also more laid back clean stuff...... My thoughts so far have been to get a Jackson...... Is this right??? Any other good guitars??? I've also heard that schecter are making some good guitars... what would you choose???

p.s if you could also recomend a model too that would be great....

Cheers
Personally, I would go with the Jackson. But in my opinion, Schecter can do heavy metal better.
schecters are badass
but i think jacksons are the best, theyre my fav. ive been playing for 8 years and jacksons the whole time, a starter would be a jackson dxmg dinky, those are really good
i actually have both, its a toss up, i suggest going and trying them out, the jackson deffinitely has a better clean sound, they both have their advantages and disadvantages, it all depends on your playing style and what you want
High End Jackson's are nice (pro, mg, USA, Custom) but schecter's are more of a bargain imo.

For schecters i'd recommend:
Hellraiser C-1, Hellraiser FR
any of the blackjack series (they have good stock pickups)
pretty much any C-1 or S-1 will do.

Jacksons:

DK2, DKMG/DKMGT
RR3, RR5
SL3, SLSMG
any pro series
any mg series except DXMG
Quote by MusicHead32
Personally, I would go with the Jackson. But in my opinion, Schecter can do heavy metal better.

Are you serious..., even though im a ibanez fan, jackson is the number 1 in metal it beats also esp in the genre of metal.... seriously.....

Schecter is only good cuz its cheaper than high quality USA Soloist guitar....
[img]http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/9672/stevevaisigver24vf.jpg[/img]
Just an influence.
The only jackson I'd buy over a schecter would be a top line soloist.