I'm a beginner guitarist, and it's been pretty easy to use a metronome for the simple beginner songs in my lesson book. However, just about any popular song these days seem to have a lot more complicated timing.

For example, even a song like Smells Like Teen Spirit, which everyone considers to be an easy beginner song, seems very tricky to play with a metronome. Even just the intro power chords has a bunch of 16th notes, mixed together with 8th notes and dotted 8th notes. I can play it at a decent speed without a metronome, but once I try playing it with a metronome, I completely lose track of the timing, even when I set the metronome to really slow speeds.

So, I'm wondering if anyone has any tips on how to learn the timing for songs? I find I have an especially hard time with 16th notes and dotted 8th notes. Or do most people not even bother using a metronome when playing these type of songs?
For songs like that don't bother using a metronome. Just remember the timing by heart. You might be off little bit or so but, who cares. I never learned proper timing until about a month ago, and i just can remember the beat by heart when reading notes, which i personally never do.
The Mariachi Player of the Church of Zeppelinism. PM TheHeartbreaker to join

Quote by soulfly_freak
men were given a brain and a penis, and only enough blood to use one at a time...

Member #2 of Rory Gallagher Fan Club PM dazzler16 to Join
slow it down a lot. like to the point of one beat every second or more, and a beat being a quarter note. then play it at this speed. it does help when you are playing fast.

rhythm is more something that you develop over time, just like you develop the ability to just know once you have done 4 beats and its a new measure w/o having to count. just keep on playing w/ a metronome on what you can and it'll come by itself.