hey im 13 and i started playing bass in december last year. i was wondering how im doing with the bass based on how long ive been playing. the most recent thing ive learned is longview by greenday and i know a lot of simpler stuff like money by pink floyd. id like to join a band but i dont want to say im like an expert bassist (which i KNOW im not). how would you rate me and am i behind, infront or about right with what you learned when you started bass? thanks
Member #29 of the Fender Armada. Pm Arlabester...
Co-Founder of the UG Hippie Club! PM me or Blynd_Snyper to join!

My Gear:
Fender Highway 1 Tele
Fender Blues Junior Amp
Korg Multi effects pedal
Peavey Millenium Bass
Peavey Bass Amp
You seem to be doin ok, dont worry too much where you're at, everyone improves at their own pace. But since you seem to be settled into bass now, take the time and learn the things you'll need next:

Techniques: Slap, Tap, pick/fingers = Try to utilize as many as possible, it will make you a better bassist, and more bands / employers will want you playing, because you can play a lot more things than just a straight fingerstyle bassist

Genres: expand your genres beyond your regular playing. Try funk,blues, jazz if you havent, maybe some different kinds of metal/rock if thats the kinda band you wanna be in. This again helps you be versatile.

Theory: learn your scales, keys, etc. This is a must if you want to be a decent musician, and again you have a MUCH better chance of getting a gig/ joining a band.

Exercises: Do finger exercises for both hands, chromatic scales are a standard, but make sure to do major/minor scales too. Maybe work on your 3/4 finger RIGHT hand technique if you feel you might need them in the future.