Im just starting to learn modes and im very confused. So in the magazine Im reading it says that the formula for aeolian is 1 2 b3 4 5 b6 b7. But if i took 1 as E, would it go E F bG as the first three degrees? Im EXTREMELY confused ! And is D dorian in the key of C? The magazine total guitar has got me really confused! Im a complete beginner to this so go easy lol.
those formulas refer to the major scale

so:

1 - first note in the major scale
2 - second note
b3 - the thrid note of the major scale flattened
4 - the fourth note of the major scale
5 - the fifthe note of the major scale
b6 - the sixth note of the major scale flattened
b7 - the seventh note of the major scale flattened

hope that helped a bit

and yes D dorian contains the same notes as C major, so it is in the key of C major yes
1 - 2 - b3 in E would be E - F# - G.

[B]E Ionian[/B] - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 1.
[B]
E - F# - G# - A - B - C# - D# - E[/B].

[B]E Aeolian[/B] - 1 - 2 - b3 - 4 - 5 - b6 - b7 - 1.

[B]E - F# - G - A - B - C - D - E[/B].

And yes, D Dorian would be in the key of C.
I actually don't know much else, but if that's the formula and you're starting on E, then it would be E, F#,G... etc.

[edit.. this guy has it! haah)
You take the major scale and use the formula for the mode from there.

D Dorian is indeed in the key of C. If you have trouble figuring out what mode is in what key, here's what I would do. I think there is a more practical way though.

Let's say you want to find out what key C# Phrygian is in.

The order of modes in a major scale is:

Ionian
Dorian
Phrygian
Lydian
Mixolydian
Aeolian
Locrian

So I would plug in C# Phrygian to that pattern.

Ionian
Dorian
C# Phrygian
Lydian
Mixolydian
Aeolian
Locrian

Then, I'd figure out what major scale has C# and has C# as it's third degree. That would be A major. So the modes in A major are:

A Ionian
B Dorian
C# Phrygian
D Lydian
E Mixolydian
F# Aeolian
G# Locrian
^Okay.