how long do you think it takes to learn to sweep pick? i just want to learn one sweep riff that is like 5 notes just down, ive been playing 2 years, do you think im not experienced enough? and also where should i begin?
I think what matters is having all of your fingers in decent shape , meaning use the f*cking pinkie. I'm learning to sweep with high amounts of gain and it makes me feel like I suck. All I can say is I wish I started sooner , so by all means jump on it. Learn it.
yea, i use my pinky i always do drills with it like 1234 1234 etc, but how shuold i begin?
get a metronome and start slowly, and you need to work on both hands getting the right technique

the sweeping motion with the picking hand, and fretting the notes with the fret hand
ive been playing 7-8 months and i can sweep pick with okay speed, so you should be fine. Just dont pick anything too hard. Protest the Hero has a lot of sweeps, if you like their music.

Try playing arrpegios to get you started.
it took me about a month to be able to do one or two patterns repeatedly. i kept practicing and practicing and one day it was like i was magically able to do it. its all about synchronizing your hands. its good to start out as fast as you can without sounding sloppy (which should be around 2 notes per second) and work your way up. if your trying it and its just sloppy and strings are ringing open and stuff, that means your doing it too fast.
yes but im confused on the techinique, i mean its almost like a chord..i dont see how people pick 2-3 notes on a string only picking it once
Just don't use too many fingers, if you get it too busy you will be like Matthew Heafy from Trivium and screw up more, barre the area with your index finger and progress from there, you shouldn't need to use your pinky all that much for sweeping, but you may occasionally throw it in, mostly just your middle and ring finger, unless you decide to throw in a little extra high end or something.