OK i wasnt sure where this thread would go and i thought this was the best place. anyways ive been playing the guitar for a little over 2 years now and ive always wanted to play the mandolin too. they're just cool lol. my question is would starting the mandolin open my eyes to new things to the guitar or will it mess with my head and screw me up.
Houses Of The Holy "Holy Man" of Zeppelinism
PM TheHeartbreaker to join
I just started playing mandolin, and I think it's great...I mean, why the heck not? It'll definitely improve your all-around finger strength and such, and perhaps give you a different musical perspective...the tuning is different, of course, but it hasn't been too difficult for me to adjust...I've only had the mandolin for about a week, and I can already play a few chords and scales and such...also, I've noticed a slight improvement in my guitar skill...
So I would say go for it...

Cheers...
Quote by houseofllama
I just started playing mandolin, and I think it's great...I mean, why the heck not? It'll definitely improve your all-around finger strength and such, and perhaps give you a different musical perspective...the tuning is different, of course, but it hasn't been too difficult for me to adjust...I've only had the mandolin for about a week, and I can already play a few chords and scales and such...also, I've noticed a slight improvement in my guitar skill...
So I would say go for it...

Cheers...

is it much different than guitar? like the tunings and chords.
umm...actually, just playing any instrument will help u in ur guitar playing skills in one way or another.
ok ive decided im going to get one then. i have about 200 bucks. any suggestions on one?