Hey people. I?m a newbie here at UG. I have been playing guitar for one year and I think it's time I should get a new guitar. I have been playing on a strat copy that I got because I begged my grandmother for it lol. I got it from Rondo's which seems to be famous around here. I didn't plan on getting a new guitar so soon but this thing just pisses me off. My current setup is a Douglas SI-11 (strat copy), Dimarzio cable and a Vox AD30VT. I learned everything I know on the strat (not much as I still suck imo). I always knew it wasn't good in the back of my head as I was playing over time but it only really hit me when I played other guitars at a Guitar Center. I never liked it because no matter how I adjusted it the single coils where muddy, the humbucker was decent but sterile sounding (it was bright and cut through but with no flavor), the frets buzzed and the tuners dropped my tuning every 7 to 10 minutes. It would detune even faster when bending or using the trem. The neck feels thin and the fret board dries out quickly. I oiled it with lemon oil TWICE which turned out to be a waste as it never actually smoothes out. It did get cleaner though lol. Honestly the guitar depressed me for a time in which I didn?t play for about a month or so. It was really that bad. I spent some time at Guitar Center playing different guitars with a salesman who befriended me so I have developed some preferences. I won?t have another chance to get into town again to check out any more guitars so I can?t go back for models that I kinda sorta liked. Plus most of them were out of my price range. I like thicker necks with wide fret boards. I want something with at least 22 frets. I do like humbuckers. Looking for a thick chunky rhythm sound from the neck but cleans up real nice. For the bridge I want something that could let me step out and has a brighter attack. But meh pickups could be changed. I am more worried about the guitar itself and how it plays. I don't have much of a preference