Hey
Im self-taught, and while Im no stranger to guitar, in terms of guitar theory, im really in the dark. I do, however, have an extensive backround in other musical instruments other than guitar, so music theory itself I know somewhat about, but sadly, with guitar, Im a bit ignorant. Id also say that im pretty decent and a huge fan of John Frusciante.

So finally, heres the question: What are some of the techniques John uses (and if
possible, a brief explaination of them so I can learn em)
Hmmm, I hope you get some help with all this, as I'm now quite curious.
do you mean like with his solos are just his riffs. cause hes pretty basic. solos he just uses regular legato(hammer-ons,pull-offs, and slides). With riffs I really dont know what to say, if you could be more specific with what you wanna know that'd be good.
Quote by King ofKumbucha
What is plexi? Do you mean a guitar made out of plexiglass?
Some of his most valuable techniques:

"percussion": Much of his work involves muting and raking, understanding how to use these in a funk evironment will move you along.
ex. If you have to ask, subway to venus

Intervals: Frusc often uses intervals, or sets of two note chords, to make simplicity become more lively.

Riffs: Many great chili peppers songs stem off a strong riff.
ex. Mellowship Slinky, Californication

much of his greatness is just knowing how to complement his bandmates, especially listening to the craziness of flea on mother's milk.
Yeah definitely. I do know that he uses alot of vibrato and as you said, legato. But I wanna know the techniques because I can never seem to play similarly (not speed or scale related), but I just never get the right 'sound' of his solos, which I absolutely love. So really, Im hoping someone will name some sweet technique that Im missing, although it probably just requires practice.