Hey there. I'm really new to the place so if I've posted somthing previously mentioned or if this is in the wrong place, please forgive me.

Well I got my first guitar the other week as I've been 'inspired' to play by John from the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

My guitar is an electric guitar (should I be starting off with an acoustic guitar?) and I'm finding it really hard to make the notes without touching other strings. I also find it hard to reach strings further away and closer to my hand.

So, my question is; are their any 'exercises' that you have made up yourself or have been told about that strengthen up your fingers, keep them in place and/or help you from touching other strings?

Thanks in advance and can't wait to read your replys!

Also because I'm just starting out which would be better for me; Tab, Chord/Lyric diagrams or sheet music? If Tab is the answer, would you please simplify how to play it? - sorry if this has already been said.

Thanks for reading!!
start off with the most basic scale, the C scale. Play that until you can play it cleanly and build your strength and speed.

And start reading actual music notation, not tab. You will learn more that way.
top axes:
Taylor GS8
Fender American Strat (w/DiMarzio pickups)
Epiphone Les Paul
ummm... you could start by mabey having your fingers really curved so your finger tips go straight into the strings and not at an angle.

an exercise that really helps is doing chromatics. all you do for that is play four notes per string going from the first fret, then the second, third, then fourth. Then you go up to the next string and go 1,2,3,4 and keep doing that for all the strings.

Also Do that exercise pretty slow at first and make sure all the notes are clean. Once you can do that you can increase the speed and that should get your fingers strong if you do it enough.