I have an Epiphone Thunderbird and the action is way too high. Can anyone tell me how to fix this? I don't really have a measurement on how high it is but when I do try to lower it it gets too much buzz.

HELP!
BRIGHT LIGHTS PUT ME IN A TRANCE.
but it aint house music that makes me want to dance.
lower down the bridge, try sanding down the nut of the guitar...and if it doesn't work, take it to a shop and have them fix it by adjusting the truss rod (don't recommend this unless there's no other way out)
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.
I lower the bridge and I just get more fret buzz
Lower the saddles?
Quote by GreenDayChris
I drink, and say oi occasionally. but I can't get laid to save my life.

Quote by Symphonic_Chaos
MX4Life you fucking godhaha
im a noob what are the saddles?
I would recommend checking the truss rod first it's not hard to do, heres a link http://www.gtrdan.com/tools/truss.php I would then adjust the bridge to lower the action. I would not even think about filing the nut. To do that requires a special set of files for each guage of string. You can not simply remove the nut and file the backside down as it is glued in.
I would say don't start out by adjusting the truss rod because you can really screw up the neck. Start by lowering your saddles. You will probably need an Allen wrench to lower it.

I also read somewhere that if you press down on any string at the fret where the neck meets the body (I think it's around 17) the space between the string and 8th fret I believe, should be about as thick as a credit card. Any higher and it's "too high."

My advice, lower one string at a time, play it, make sure there's not fret buzz and it's low enough for you, and just repeat this for each string.
-Fender Deluxe Active P-bass (60th anniversary)
-Peavey T-40 (1982)
-Hartke HA-3500
-Aguilar GS 2x12
-GK Backline 2x10