Hey everyone,

I've been playing guitar for about 5 years. Almost all this time I've played electric, having no interest in the acoustic, but lately Im getting extremely sick of carrying around amps every where I go, so the obvious solution, it was time to learn acoustic.

So I went and bought an acoustic guitar. A Walden Natura 560, put some new strings on it, fixed the action, all that. Then I sat down with a tab of a what should be a simple easy song (Moonlight Sonata) and behold....

Mine fingers, they function not! The are suddenly grossly inaccurate, missing the most simple of changes, and fingerpicking seems to be a non-existant skill for me. Hmm....I look at the possible problems.

Finger strength? I have lots, as I play heavy strings on my hollowbody, but lights on the acoustic. It doesnt seem to be hard to fret anything. Co-ordination I have lots of, as I've been playing for some time.

I attempt the peice on my electric, and I can play it fine, so I switch back to the acoustic, still having problems. Fretboard width maybe? The artcore is definately wider...so...

I arrived on the only thing I think of. String spacing. I play (for electric) an Ibanez Artcore TM-71 and it has a wide string spacing. I tried out my friends Epi Les Paul, which has much narrower space between strings, and I had trouble playing it as well. It was like I suddenly went back 3 years, playing all around sloppy. So this must be whats wrong, the narrower neck/string spacing on the acoustic.

I guess my question is, has anyone had this problem other than me? If so how long did it take you to adjust to this new string spacing? I have been playing this acoustic religiously for 3 weeks now, and have noticed little to no improvement? Are there any relatively easy fingerpicking exercises around that can help me build some "new fretboard" coordination?

Thanks in advance.
hmm... I use my dad's acoustic he got from a sears catalog in the 70's and I can play it fine