Ok, follow me here.

Actually, a little of my background. I will give you the short and sweet version of my resume. I graduated from electronics tech school in 1987, but I have never worked a single day as an electronics tech. I have been an electrical technician ever since. I work on powere generation and distribution systems, very BIG AC-DC conversion systems for powering motors larger than your car, etc. So I am at a loss when it comes to this little stuff.

I cracked open my old textbooks and saw that "the gain of an op-amp is determined by it's external resistors".

Does this mean that if I have a circuit with an 8 pin op-amp, I can just grab any old op-amp off the shelf and solder it into place and it should work just fine?

The reason I ask is this: in Seattle back in the mid-nineties, music stores almost literally couldn't give away those DOD Grunge pedals. The prices on them started out at about $100 and every time I went in the store, they were ten bucks cheaper. Finally, they were $9.99 and I bought one.

Well, the tone is kind of plasticy, and despite all the distortion, it doesn't sustain as much as you would think, so, since I have other pedals, I thought I might screw with it a bit. Maybe get it to sound nicer.

So, then I read this interview with the Analog Man. I did a quick search on eBay for some of the JRC4558 chips. I found them, but they wanted too much for them. Then I found the other chip he mentioned, the Malaysian 4558 op-amp made by Texas Instruments, and I found those on eBay for 25 cents a piece. So I bought 10 of them.

Now I am wondering if I can put them into my DOD Grunge pedal. If the gain of an op-amp is determined by the external resistors, it seems like I should be able to.

Thanks.
Lois: How am I supposed to live in this town if I'm a social pariah?

Peter: What's that? That them little fish that eat cows?
Last edited by McDuffie at Aug 9, 2006,