Can anyone here play this song on an acoustic guitar? I'm having problems with it, not the speed but the fact that my hand is so spread out and I have to put enough pressure on the strings.
I just want to make sure this is actually possible as I can play about half of the song before my hand hurts from stretching it.
red hot chili pepers have a lot of hand stretching on their new album, its just a matter of getting used to it. As soon as it starts hurting, stop though. you dont want to do any damage
It's way too fast for me. But I've been playing for only 8-9 months.

If it hurts, STOP!
No pain no gain. He has long fingers and has always presented some tough stretchs (like his Hendrix root-thumb chords which are almost physically impossible for me). Just keep practicing and it will come. It took me forever to be about to play the Nature Intro to tripping billies by DMB. Hell of a stretch. One day it just worked. Even if you've been playing a while and have a good stretch it's not the same. He's doing a Hendrex-esque technique of branching off chords to play a little lead, ala Under the Bridge etc, even though hes using an arpeggio. Because of this your hand has to position for the chord and go off and do a little hammer on or something, it presents a different challenge. It's really not that tough of song, it just takes a little patience, but once you crack it you'll be fine.

Bry
Quote by wylde_overdrive
Large Brownie Batter Blizzard with chunks of brownie. *Dairy product orgasm*

Yes, i'm fat
The song seems pretty standard to me...

What are these stretches that you are having trouble with?
My God, it's full of stars!