To be plain and simple, i need some help deciding what guitar i should get, im 98percent sure im getting a strat (being that i want to play alot of pink) i have little experience with the technicals of electric guitar. So thats why I am here.

As far as money goes, id like to stay under 1000 bucks.

Oh, and what distortion, or amp do i need to have a god pink floyd sound.

P.S. : so whats the deal with Agile guitars, i was looking at a ST - 1000 sunburst, seems wellmade, got good reviews, and its mega cheap for a strat ripoff

All help is appreciated
I've heard Agiles are really good knock offs, and I'm certain most people here will say the same. I'm not sure what official Fender model to recommend, but I can assure you that you're making the right choice with the Strat if you'll be playing Floyd.

For effects, you can check out http://gilmourish.com for a list of Gilmour's effects in his rig.
David Gilmour uses Hiwatt amps and Fender guitars.

I've seen him use some lace pickups, in his strats. But i'd start with getting the American Strat...its a little under $1000
I would go for an american strat, and put some emgs in it like floyd does. However, if you don't have a good tube amp, don't even bother with the guitar. Get a decent tube amp (maybe a Fender) and then a cheaper strat (maybe a classic series). You can put emgs in later.
Muddy Waters Tele - Signed by the members of Canned Heat
PRS Soapbar SE - Signed by Michael Angelo Batio
H&K Statesman Quad EL-84
Dunlop Wah (modded to JH specs)
get any strat-style guitar and put the EMG DG-20 set in it
Quote by ToolBass_dude
Look on youtube.com- search "rediculously hard classical **** that no one in their right mind would try" and you'll find some 5 year old asian kids playing it
Why was I always under the impression that Gilmour used telecasters most of the time. Would it make a difference having a telecaster rather than strat if going to play 90+% Floyd material?