I was just wondering what you guys thought of getting guitar lessons? I mean, will getting a teacher help me to iron out the flaws in my playing better than the advice from all you guys on UG? I know a lot of it depends on the teacher, but what have any past experiences you guys have had been like?
Basically I have been playing for about 2 years now and I've never had a lesson. I think that there must be several things which I'm not doing right.
I guess what I'm asking is will most teachers be able to pick these flaws out and help me fix them?

Also, I'm thinking of getting a new guitar, I currently have an old RG550 with Evo's which is quite beat up (trem is gone a bit, not been set up in ages etc.) And I was thinking of an upgrade somewhere in the £800 region. I've already tried a Jackson SL3 which I thought was prtty good, does anyone else have any recommendations that I should try?

Cheers
RE: Al DiMeola
Quote by Bill69

he sucks, why woudlnt u play guitar with a pick? oh ya, thats cuz you suck. kerry king owns whoever this guy is

Member 03 of the Yngwie Malmsteen fanclub PM Yngwie Malmstien to join.
A good teacher is always beneficial, though a bad teacher can do more damage than a good one could possibly make up for... I don't know the state of guitar teachers over there, obviously... It can't hurt to try and have a second opinion on here, if necessary.

And are you happy with the 550? If so, why not get another secondhand one and customise it (and you'll still have money left), or get a 1550/1570 and change the pickups?

Imo Jackson US is a waste of money as they're pretty much in the same vein as Ibanez Prestige and they cost a bunch more.
He who joyfully marches to music in rank and file has already earned my contempt.
He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would fully suffice.

Remember: A prudent question is one half of wisdom.

Click.