ok sorry if this is the wrong place i don't know if it should be in that customizing thread. but here goes ok i got a fender showmaster and i can pull up on the bar and i can push down but everytime i pull up it breaks the strings unless i down tune a whole bunch. my question is can i put anything on my guitar to when i pull up it dosen't break the strings. also them locking nuts on them floyd rose guitars can i buy a set of them locking nuts and put them on my guitar?
your strings may be too tight, or are the strings breaking by the saddles every time? if so your saddles may be sharp and cutting your strings, and yes you can get a locking nut but i wouldnt recomend installing it yourself, it requires drilling in the headstock, get a pro to do it
i dont konw that the locking nut would even do anything, other than keep it in tune for a little longer. i would think that would make it even tighter on the strings
no it wouldnt affect the tightness of the strings and they actually keep your guitar in almost perfect tune
Quote by GuitarBoy-IL
your'e better off with locking tuners

no not really theyre easier to change tunings, but theyre not as affective, and a locking not for parts and instalation is like 80 bucks, locking tuners are 40-80 bucks each
but once you lock the nut it changes the tuning a bit. that's why FRs have the fine tuners.
strat player forever.
then you compansate, example; if the nut knocks the strings 1 half step flat, tune the strngs 1 step sharp and lock the nut
first i don't know what a saddle is so can someone please tell me what it is also my guitar is in perfect tune when i try to pull up on the bar. i don't know what it is but its like the skinniest string and the second skinny one that breaks one time it broke the fattest string. i would get a professional to put it on if i got it
Quote by slipknotfan2448