I have been playing guitar for about 3 years, all self taught (except for a class about theory last year). I have stuck mainly with rhythm, but it's getting boring. Due to me sticking to rhythm, I made a habbit of curling my pinky and sticking it almost under my ringfinger (on my fret hand). I have tried to start playing with my pinky, and it's getting stronger and i'm getting used to playing with it, but that's not helping me. I want to begin scales. I want to be able to atleast play creative solos at some point in my life, maybe even shred. What should I do? Should I just take lessons, or can I do it without them? What should I practice? Any books I should pick up? How do I build my speed? Any information that could help me would be nice.
Quote by SForbz-Rockstar
They weren't homeless they were just Grunge.
First off, here's a lesson on scales HERE

Also, get the book Berklee Modern Metheod for guitar
Quote by krymson
I hope that we could get some real metal out there. I guess A7X a start...
But nu metal does have its moments like Slipknot Mushroomhead and Korn.

Quote by VR2005
...Scales are basically the most useless thing in jazz...

What kinda music do you play?

Blues - Pentatonic Scale
Jazz - Diminished Scale
Death/Black Metal - Harmonic Minor, Melodic Minor, Diminished
Neoclassical - Harmonic Minor, melodic minor, Phrygian
Rock - Pentatonic Scale
Thats just a couple for ya. Look em up
For heavy metal, I assume you mean like Metallica, use pentatonic.. For trivium, they use the harmonic minor alot, and sometimes the pentatonic
Also learn the Minor scale as well. Metallica uses it in a few songs (master of puppets solo)
Watch This

Also look for "The Guitar Grimoire" its great

Edit: Also, you shouldnt really concern on scales but more "Ear Training". It allows you to "hear" the notes in your head. Really useful in creating melodies and what not, That and Download "Fretboard Warrior", its also very useful.
Last edited by ProjectDark at Aug 13, 2006,