Had a lesson yesterday where we touched on powerchords, and I asked my teacher if they were the same as a double stop...he didn't know what a double stop was, had never heard that term before.
Best I can figure, a powerchord is always the root and it's fifth, but a double stop can be any two notes. Does that mean a powerchord is technically a double stop? Or am I way off?
"He has a woman's name and wears makeup. How original."
--Alice Cooper, on Marilyn Manson.
Double stop BENDS: bends where you are already fretting a note and you bend another note up to that pitch, a rock cliche style of play.

EDIT:

e 12
B 15b (full) - Double Stop Bend    
G
D
A
E

e
B
G (13)  - 14th fret being HARMONISED by the 13th
D  14
A
E
Axe FX 2
Matrix GT1000FX
Mesa 4x12
Behringer FCB1010
Last edited by La Qotsa at Aug 14, 2006,
I'm no expert, but yes, a powerchord could be a doublestop, I guess. Moreso if it's the root and the fifth below it (a la Smoke On the Water) than the normal. (IMO)
Hmmm...maybe I am out there...I read about double stops in my theory book when it talked about harmonizing notes. It sai two notes played one after another can be considered harmony, but those two notes played simultaneously is a double stop. Maybe I've got the term wrong...
rock guitar for dummies said that a double stop was holding any two notes on the same fret. but i heard recently it means that thing where you play two notes and bend the other note into the same pitch
Just look at my post...please people.
Axe FX 2
Matrix GT1000FX
Mesa 4x12
Behringer FCB1010
a double stop is when u play two notes together. im a violinist as well as a guitarist, and a double stop is when u place the bow in such a way that it plays 2 strings instead of 1, but wat you are describing may be something completly different
Nothing really matters...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyGuitar
I'm only responsible for the Korean jizz...

I never thought I'd say those words.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_haeni