Hi guys,

I am planning on buying the Line 6 GuitarPort pretty soon, so I can play guitar on my computer, and so I can record with Audacity. I am new at recording, never done it before.
My PC specs are OK:

AMD Athlon64 3800+ at 2.4GHZ
1 GB RAM
Windows XP SP2
160GB hardrive
logitech x-230 2.1 speakers

The worst thing is my soundcard. It's just an onboard realtek AC97 card on an Abit motherboard. Yes, I know it's bad, I've looked around a bit, heard really bad reviews. The problem is I am totally broke right now (totally), especially after I buy Guitarport. There's no way I can afford even a cheap sound card right now, but I probably could in a couple months.

I already know about the good cards out there, all I need to know is about the realtek.

To anyone who has used the realtek ac97 for home recording, can I at least get decent quality recordings with guitarport+audacity? I'm not looking for professional quality, but I was wondering how well the realtek card will do for recording. BTW, I've never had any lagging, static or audio problems on my pc (programs like reason, fl studio work flawlessly).
Thanks.
uhhhhhh.

the guitar port will be your soundcard.

Adam
Quote by ollie_12318
my grandma is dying and my mum wants me to play something on bass for her, any body got any suggestions?!

Quote by splinter26
another one bites the dust has a pretty cool bass line
Nothing wrong with the AC`97 for recording, I use it and its fine. You will definately be able to get a decent recording from guitarport/audacity once you figure it all out and balance the input levels etc. Also, get ASIO drivers to minimise latency in recording (if you use VST plugins etc). www.asio4all.com
The guitarport replaces your soundcard input.

I would just get a real mic interface though personally.
I'm not very active here on UG currently.
I'm a retired Supermod off to the greener pastures of the real world.