Hi everyone,

I have been playing guitar for about 6 months now and i dont really like the sound im getting from my guitar. It was my first guitar and its a Epiphone G-400. I bought it because i like to play AC/DC type things but have found that since i started playing my tastes have changed. I was thinking about changing the pickups out to get more of a Trivium, Bullett For My Valentine, Avenged Sevenfold type lead tone. I have a few pedals that i tried to see if i could get a similar tone with my guitars current setup but i just cannot get the cutting lead tone out of my guitar. What pickups do you think would be best to get a similar tone? My amp is a Vox Valvetronix AD50VT. Some of the pedals i have are a Visual Sound Jekyle and Hyde, a Boss DS-2 Distortion pedal, and a Boss TU-2 Tuner Pedal.

Do you think that changing the pickups would be worth the effort or would it be a waste on this guitar? I really like the shape and style of the SG bodies so i thought it would be cool to get the tone i want out of it.

Thanks For All the Help!!
You could try something like a set of EMGs such as an EMG 81 for the bridge and an EMG 85 for the neck (the ZW set $150 USD). Dimarzio Evolutions are good tight agressive sounding pickups. You could try a Seymour Duncan George Lynch Screamin Demon, a Dimebucker, a Bill Lawrence L500XL, a Seymour Duncan JB. All good bridge pickups for that hot lead tone. Hope that helps. Sorry if it doesn't...
[img]http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c317/FoxEncounter/johnpetrucci.jpg[/img]
I'm gonna teach you.... how to snap your arm in.... 5 places...