Im a self-taught so i dont know anythng about music theory , i know a few scales though , Is music theory necessary?
yes.
I've got something in my front pocket for you.
Why don't you reach down in my pocket and see what it is?
Then grab onto it, it's just for you.
Give a little squeeze and say: "How do you do?"
if you want to learn to improvise and write decent songs, yes it is
Now officially has too much gear to list

PM me if you want to know about my recording setup
You don't have to know it, but it helps. Alot of classic rock guitarists know the basics and that's it.

I don't know too much theory. I could never get it to sink in. But after 13 years i' say i'm an ok guitarist without it.
Quote by Dirtydeeds468
People don't like Dave Mustaine because he created something that owned Metallica in just about every single aspect of thrash metal.

it's true
Quote by cerveza
if you want to learn to improvise and write decent songs, yes it is

how long does it take to learn it??????????
yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
I don?t want to steal the thread but is it possible to learn on one?s own or would one be better off with a teacher?
Yes and no.

If you plan on being a professional musician and make good music, then yes. Although as said before, many great guitarists have been able to make good music without it, but I reccomend at least learning the basics to get an idea.
Huzzah! It is I, S0ulja, the Duke Of Swiss, 3rd member of the Royal order of cheese!

PM Soulfly_freak or sock_demon to join
everybody is saying yes and i agree. but i'll give a short explanation to why i think it is important.