I've been playing guitar for about two years now. I'm completely self-taught and I believe I've done a pretty good job teaching myself up to now. I recently started a thrash metal band and everything is going great - but I want to start introducing guitar solos to my songs.

Scales aren't too big a problem for me. I can figure them out by ear, but it's the different styles of picking that I don't understand. I listen to music with some pretty technical guitar work (Alexi Laiho [Children of Bodom], Dimebag Darrell, [Pantera]) and I want to start doing it.

The styles of guitar play I wish to learn are Sweep Picking, and I want to improve my legato. After watching guitarists like Theodore Ziras, I believe sweeping is one of the most productive and intense things you can do on the guitar. I have looked up the basics of it, but I don't understand how the sweeping motion can be pulled off while hitting scales (if this is even how it's done. Enlighten me, please).

I wouldn't really say legato is a form of playing, but I'd be interested in techniques to help me improve it to the level where I can play the solo of [Pantera - Domination].

Thanks in advance for all the help. I've been reading a few of the posts and you all seem to be a knowledgable bunch.

EDIT :

Also, when Alexi plays solos, he moves his picking hand to tap the strings and it is really resonant. I don't know how he does it, but when I try it - the sound is really dull, as if the pickups aren't even getting it at all. Am I doing something wrong?
I don't understand how the sweeping motion can be pulled off while hitting scales (if this is even how it's done. Enlighten me, please).

Sweep picking is rarely used for scales, it's almost alway used to play arpeggiated chords (arpeggiated = the chord played one note at a time). Here is an example:
E minor
e|------------7-12-7------------|
B|----------8--------8----------|
G|--------9------------9--------|
D|------9----------------9------|