Alright, in my school, here are several things I want to do to my guitar.

1) Screw it.

2) Scallop the 19-24 frets with the reference of these 2 sites

http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/scal1.htm

http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/scalloped.htm

3) Mod my trem cavity

Sand the red bits away so my trem has a wider range, this is to gain woodwork experience.

Yea, I will make another thread about this when I begin, right now I want advice.
I dont think your gonna get a bigger range by just sanding off the part behind the cavity especially with 5 springs. i think u have a grounding problem there too but im not an expert at that
For the upper frets, you'll be gald to know, you do NOT need all the tools specified in your first link...this link is for scalloping upper frets http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/scalloped.htm (your second link) ... all thats needed is a 1/4" Round File.

And I think you've got me wanting scalloped frets too!
Axe FX 2
Matrix GT1000FX
Mesa 4x12
Behringer FCB1010
Last edited by La Qotsa at Aug 15, 2006,
Quote by suckasucks
I dont think your gonna get a bigger range by just sanding off the part behind the cavity especially with 5 springs. i think u have a grounding problem there too but im not an expert at that

That's not my guitar, i was showing the parts I am going to sand off in MY guitar, it has 3 springs.
for a full fret scallop, i would recommend getting big round sanding blocks, and cutting the to the size of your frets, more expensive, but easier and you can reuse it again and again.
Quote by Sir-Shoelace
manliest string guage? barbed wire.

Founder Of the UG Slide Player's Guild, PM me If You're Really Feelin' Dem Blues

THE PIT
"better than your average psychiatrist"
I am going for a lighter scallop so maybe filing then sanding, I am going to be using my eyes so..
how much wood will you be sanding away. cos if you plan it out you can take off ****loads of wood for big big divebombs