Ive been trying to teach myself for like two years now - and seriously i cant play ANYTHING really, i can do chords and stuff, lil riffs and intros etc but thats it. I tried learning music theory off this site and stuff and i dont get any of it - and its not even like im new to music cos i used to play in an orchestra before. But i dont know what to do cos i just wanna play well - i practice a couple of hours a day i suppose cos its the hols. You'll probs just tell me to practice more but when i do i just get annoyed. Is there any point or shud i just give up???

Sorry for whinging (sp??)
?To young to hold on and to old to just break free and run.?

Jeff Buckley
...find a guitar teacher?
I will show you something different from either
Your shadow in the morning striding behind you
Or your shadow at evening rising to meet you
I will show you fear in a handful of dust
Find a song that you really, truly like, and could listen to for hours, and learn to play it. It doesn't have to be extremely difficult, just start off easy. Play some Bob Dylan, or Beatles stuff. Remember, you don't HAVE to play the exact, note-for-note song, you can always play along to the song with the chords
"The road ahead is lined with broken dreams, so walk, just walk on by..."
Look into getting a teacher/mentor. Teaching yourself is extremely frustrating, and when you start to slack off or be annoyed, there isn't really anybody to bring you back except yourself. Get a buddy that plays guitar and have them learn stuff with you, so you can lean on each other and have encouragment.
Best of luck.
Originally posted by VoodooChild15
If your girlfriend's having sex at 13, she's a dirty dirty whore. And if you're having sex at 14, you're a dirty dirty...pimp.

Looking for a drummer in the Detroit, MI area
PM if interested!

MySpace