When fingerpicking, I know that your thumb is used to strike the bass strings and your first, second, and third finger to strike the bottom three strings. But in a piece like this:
e-------------------------------------------------0---------0-- 
b---------1------------3-----1--------------------1---------1-- 
g---------2------------2--------2--0------------0---------0---- 
d-----2------------0------------------0h2-----2---------0------ 
a---0---0-----------------------------------3---------2-------- 
e------------3---2---2----2--3---------------------------------

Would it not be better to move all fingers up one string? It feels unnecessarily complicated to string skip like that using only the thumb. I would like to learn the correct way and any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
well that is pretty easy, though i have a lot of experience with fingerpicking. the only part i may see that you have a problem with is the last part, which can be done easily. im going to start from this (20010) you have to strike the 3 and the 2 with you thumb and the 0 with your index finger and then for the 1&0 at the same time use your ring and pinky finger. its not that hard if you do it for a while
I can fingerpick pretty good, not anything amazing but i dont do it the correct way, and i use my pinky if i need to. Seems much more effecient if you can use all your right hand fingers, I'd say play it any way you can, if you want to get better at the proper way then do it the proper way.
Quote by BigFatSandwich
it took you 15 consecutive hours of practice to realize that playing guitar makes you better at playing guitar. congratulations.

Quote by snowbert
SMOKE UN-DER WATER!!!