So I was called up to play bass for a band, never played though. I've played guitar for close to three years now though, so I have some knowledge. Never actually picked up the bass. Enough rambling. Should I learn techniques first? Or what's most important first of all to learn on bass, keeping a good beat, learning songs to develop that. You guys are the bass experts. Educate the n00blet.
I'm a social drinker. When someone says "I'll have a drink." I say "So shall I!"
Learn how to fret notes so they dont rattle- that is the thing i have most difficulty when i play bass (im a guitarist). ALso, learn to play with your fingers, because if you use a pick, it will throw you off because you are used to the string spacing on the guitar. IMO, using your fingers is the right way to play bass.
^ Me either.

You can try just playing the top string (low e) of guitar chords on your bass. If that makes sense. It works for me.
Quote by MTVget0FFtheAIR

"ur a fag if you don't pronounce the lightning bolt in ac/dc"

touche. who wuzzit?

Quote by lookie here
OMG! smile_man, that was amazing.
if u have played guitar for 3 years, hopefull you know the theory, at least a little, and you can improvise a lot....second you should have the fretboard memorized, and a good deal of scales so just play really....and bare hands is the way to go.

just pick up the base and fool around with it, and u'll be fine. transition is fairly easy.
Yes, I know the theory thanks.

However, one remaining question about technique. Should I rest the thumb above the top pickup? Or somewhere? Or should my hand be floating? I just need picking hand help. Is it right if I have a thumb rested on the pickup and after every stroke I rest the finger on the string above it? I.E. I plucked the G with my index, it would rest on the D?
I'm a social drinker. When someone says "I'll have a drink." I say "So shall I!"