Page 1 of 2
For me it was basically listening to songs I liked and matching what I heard until I could make my own stuff, basically improving over the rythym of what they played. I have never really learned scales or modes but I can always hold my own due to feel of a song even if its the first time I've heard it, I can step in and make a decent solo to it on the first try. So how did you guys learn to solo?
My Guitar Teacher.
FlickR
iBanez Rg550 20th Anniversary.
iBanez GRG170DX W/ Dimarzio Steve's Special
VTM 60 Tube Head
Carvin Legacy Vai Cabinet 4x12 Cabinet
Boss SD-1 Super Overdrive
ZW-44 Overdrive
Zakk Wylde Signiture Wah
I studied the solos of the masters (and still do).
All things are difficult before they are easy.
- Dr. Thomas Fuller (British physician, 1654-1734)
Quote by Freepower
For everything you need to know - gpb0216.
Yeah, a lot initially was copying. What helped a lot was at least knowing a little
bit about theory ahead of time. I at least knew what a key was, what a scale was
and why a scale is not a fingering position. I started with a pentatonic scale.
That at least helped to put copying solos in some context. I could see where
someone else was using the scale and where they'd go outside and I could
begin to incorporate that stuff.

This was at a time before the internet and readily available tabs. You actually had
to figure stuff out by listening. Nowadays, it seems like a lot of people don't
have even the slightest clue about minimal music theory. Moreover, they seem
to think learning any is a waste of time. amazing!
You need to know scales in order to improvise solos. I suggest learning the major and minor scales, as you can know the relative minors of the majors to solo in.
i listened to a song,when i feel like want to play the solos's song,i search the tab,then pracrice it...begin from the easiest solos until the hard solos..
Quote by Ascendancy5