I've been playing for about 5 years, and I consider myself fairly knowledgeable about music theory, but something I've always had a problem with is improvisation.

I believe that my problem stems from years of playing unaccompanied in my room and noodling away all day. I've never gotten to start a band, due to the fact that I live in East TN...a very, very ****ty place to find other musicians.

I can sit and learn advanced licks from players like Randy Rhoads and even a little Yngwie, but I can't use those advanced techniques in my own playing because I always **** up and play a bunch of jumbled notes that don't fit at all with the rhythm track. However, if I sit and hum out a solo and learn it, I can compose some fairly good ones. I just can't improvise it. I can go off on some fairly technical Metal riffs all day long, but when it comes time to solo over them...I sound like a drunken Kurt Cobain (yes, it's THAT bad!).

People always tell me to just practice more, but I'm lost. I've been trying to get better at improv since I first started playing lead, but the only thing that's gotten better is my technique. What can I do?
Well, you said that you can "hum out a solo and learn it", so why not do that?

When you're listening to your music (which I'm assuming is mostly Metal and Shred), why don't you hum something over that to get some ideas?

Also, I'd recommend recording what you play (and make sure you record what you're playing to, not just the lead part), and try to "study" that to see what you can and can't play to make the song sound good.
You need to practice what you're having trouble with -- improvisation!

Play to backing tracks and/or use a metronome. It sounds like some of your
problems are related to rythym.

You can't really just regurgitate stuff you memorized when improvising -- well, that's
not improvising. But, you can use some of that in your own playing.

Start with a simple chord progression and play around with a scale or two.