Hey guys. I have been playing guitar for almost 2 years now but i didnt really begin to take it seriously until a few months ago. Im now trying to becomr a better guitarist and im just trying to figure out what i should do or learn to become one.
practice a lot of scales and such. thats what everybody tells me
u cant spell slaughter without laguhter!

Quote by drew
look, lets not go into who drunk-called who, who threw what at who, or who put what in the freezer
yay cake
Quote by RandyVanHendrix
I'm the nicest mother****er in the world. If you say anything different I'll kill you.
i would recommend, not just practicing scales but also things that challenge you, alternate picking, sweeping and things of that nature. something that helped me was something kirk hammett said along the lines of "when you're learning something new, don't just do an exercise to do an exercise, make something musical out of it" in other words if you're trying to build up finger stregth don't just run up and down scales, make something musical, or if you're trying to build up your sweeps don't just run 1 sweeping pattern over and over, take several and link them together to make something that sounds good. i think this is mainly so you don't get too bored doing the same thing over and over.

and on an edited note: what john suggests is VERY true, get used to being able to improv and not JUST improve up one scale and down the other but actually making something musical out of it.
Find out you're weaknesses, rythem, theory ect. and practice those twice as many times as you're strenghts.
Buy a Metronome (google weird metronome for an dowloadable one) learn music theory, practice with your friends start a guitar club at school, make sure you have good strenght as well as dependece in fingers, and practice everything to a metronome
Quote by Johnljones7443
Learn how to practice and use improvisation as part of your practice routine.

Agreed, particularly on practicing.