Page 1 of 2
ok here is my situation.......ive been playing for about 4 years(im 17) and for probably about the last 5 months ive been playing every day at least 10 hours and gotten to the point where im just gonna start practicing all day(all my "friends" and love interests kind of proved themselves to bel ameasses so my social life is pretty much dead) Im gonna be applying to berklee in the fall and am hoping to get in on an academic scholarship........anyways , although my practice sessions are already pretty organized,im working on putting together a "15 hr perfect practice routine(i am ****ing obsessed)", and was looking for ideas of what to incorporate...i wanted to break it up into 5hrs of single note technique, 5hrs of chord work(progressions ,voicings, changes, comping,)and 5hrs of other skills(sight reading,aural training,transposing,repertoire,theory studies) the reason i tell you is because i want this routine to be perfect and incorporate everything i would need to play Jazz improvisation o just jazz in general(Ted Greene,Joe Pass,Pat Martino, Wes Montgomery , Ali Dimeola ) was hoping that anybody with experience in this style could give me suggestions on things to add or good ways to work in the other areas.....thanks for suggestions......
Last edited by dwayne5000 at Aug 17, 2006,
theres no life for me where i am ....its the ****ing gay ass salton sea....so musics the only thing I have that will get me the **** outta here
You are an idiot. What, you want to shred? Go to a therapist. There's no way you'll ever become a musician thats widely appreciated if it is an obsessive chore. Relax, play five hours a day tops. You can damage your hands extremely easily by doing that much repetitive strain on them.
Alright, a fifteen hour practice routine.... I'm pretty sure Cor wouldn't recommend this.

But since he's not here, fifteen hours. How much time will you be putting in for breaks?