alright ive been playing for 3 years now, im prett intermediate as my playing goes but ive just recently started getting into theory and modes and what not and trying to get a better ear. but anyway ive figured out basically what i need to learn

how to read music
figure out all the notes on the neck
ear training
learn alot more chords and all their positions
learning more scales and modes and their different postions over the neck

now i know what i need to learn but how do i go about learning most of these things
im getting a new guitar teacher soon and most internet lessons i guess help but not to thurow from what iv looked at.
Depends how fast you want to learn them

If you want to learn them right now, go print off a few pages of scales and modes, and sit there for 6 hours repeatedly playing them and memorizing them.
Quote by BigFatSandwich
it took you 15 consecutive hours of practice to realize that playing guitar makes you better at playing guitar. congratulations.

Quote by Sharp_as_steel
Axe_grinder pwns!!!!

Member #2 of the "Official UG Teabaggers' Cult". PM Slayer224 to join.
While you can learn a lot of those different things on the Internet, it's good that you're getting a teacher.

For the most part, music reading is pretty simple, but it's definitely good to have somebody who knows what they're doing supervise you to make sure you know what you're doing, so you don't get into any bad habits that you end up getting stuck in.
well im not a complete idiot with theory stuff im just not very efficient with it ive been self taught basically until a few months ago so i learned how to play just didnt learn the behind the scenes to what i was playing haha. but yeah ill look at those lessons and im getting a jazz or classical teacher im not sure which one yet.