Hey guys,

A big time Newbie here. I need some big time advise on some question regarding what and how to purchase a guitar and amp. First of I have never played a guitar before but have been in love with it for most of my life. After seeing my friend play his, I said to myself DAMIT I?m going to learn to play. I?m 29 so I don?t know if I?m too old to learn but going to give it a shot. I don?t want to spend much but maybe around $300.00 CND for both guitar and amp so I need to get as much bang form my buck. I have done some research and I have come down to these guitars:

Affinity Fat Strat Squire
Epiphone G-310
Epiphone LP Special II
Yamaha Pacifica 112
Ibanez GRX20
Ibanez GAX30

I want a guitar that I can possibly upgrade its components later on.

As for an amp I?m looking for an inexpensive practice amp. Also I?m unclear what is more important to a Newbie an amp or the guitar. I want a good low-end guitar but I?m thinking that the amp would be more important as I train my ear I need an amp that has good sound. So what?s more important to a Newbie an amp or a guitar?

Now where to purchases the guitar and amp from. I live in Toronto Canada so unfortunately most of the online stores are US and I think that most retail stores in Toronto?s prices are not as good as online stores. What about e-bay? I see some sellers on e-bay selling brand new guitars that have some finishing defects. They claim that these defects are only cosmetic and do not effect the sound of the guitar. Should I buy used? So may questions so I?ll stop here.

BTW the style I would like to learn to play is GNR, Metallica, Pink Floyd, Black Sabbath basically Hard Rock but basically every type. I love guitar solos so that?s what I?m aiming for. I know it will take me many years to master this but that?s the fun of it.

Cheers
Bill P
Last edited by BillPana at Aug 18, 2006,