I am pretty new to acoustic guitars.. Can you lower the action on an acoustic guitar?

My Stuff
The good
Ibanez RG550
Laney GH50L (Head)
Laney 4x12 TT (Cab)
Jim Dunlop Wah-Wah
Boss ME-8 Multi Effects
Marshall Blues Breaker
The Okay
H/H 100 Watt Combo 1975
Ibanez GRX 420
The Ugly
Marshall 15 Watt MG
Strat Copy
you can but it wont be easy to reverse. You could sand down the saddle or cut into the nut
*Blah blah blah my soul to take*
okay thanks, just the action is like 3/4 of an inch off the fret board ..

and my rg 550 is like a few mm's
My Stuff
The good
Ibanez RG550
Laney GH50L (Head)
Laney 4x12 TT (Cab)
Jim Dunlop Wah-Wah
Boss ME-8 Multi Effects
Marshall Blues Breaker
The Okay
H/H 100 Watt Combo 1975
Ibanez GRX 420
The Ugly
Marshall 15 Watt MG
Strat Copy
take the strings off and the saddle should just lift out with some pliers, then sand it down a bit a put it back in.. its not hard to do.. just dont adjust the truss rod to try to lower the action
Why shouldent someone adjust the truss rod? People allways say to do that. and what it the Truss rod for?
People not always say this. Only those who misunderstood their luthier do. They noticed the action of their guitar changed over time, went to the shop and heard the luthier mutter something about adjusting the truss rod and came to think this is the way one dials in a desired action. Not true. A truss rod is ment to counteract the pull of the strings, so the neck can be kept spindly and easy to wrap your fingers around. To accomodate for different string gauches and to counteract creep (steel loosing tension over time) the truss rod is made adjustable.
If the neck curvature is alright (having a slight concavity) the truss rod should not be adjusted, no matter how far off your action is.
As said, action is lowered by sanding off the bottom of the bridge piece. However, 3/4th of an Inch is so ludicrously high I'd say you are either exaggarating or there is something seriously wrong with your guitar.