I'm not sure if this is the right place to be asking for advice but I play the acoustic guitar and I'm a bit of a beginner. I'm wanting to learn barre chords but I'm really struggling as my index finger is quite small to cover all six strings and then stretch my other fingers on a couple of other strings, I'm really struggling. Please, please has anybody got any tips for my problem, or will I just have to wait until my fingers grow a bit because I'm 15? (my index finger length is about 7.5cm).

Thanks
Last edited by jacko_17 at Aug 20, 2006,
Well I'm 15 too and my index is about 7.5 as well (ya i measured cause I'm that cool ) and I dont have problems with it. I can play chords like F and B really easily and I've only been playing for about 10 months now. My advice is to just practise and practise.
to put this in perspective my finger is 8cm and yes when i first learnt to play barr chords i struggled. if it was easy everyone would be amazing but everything would be boring.
ok to start off just use your index finger keep it right next to the the fret and move up and down the neck just getting a clean sound then gradually add one finger at a time until you make the f shape barr. remember take it slowly and just keep plugging away. once you have that all others are a piece of piss
remember to use the weight of your body to your advantage and instead of trying to pinch your thumb and index finger to get the sound pull back with your arm a little more....hope that made sense...
wake the sun so the stars cant shine....
Last edited by frogan at Aug 20, 2006,
All that is good info also the song "Bother" by stone sour Helped me out greatly when i 1st started learning bars