Hi,

I bought my first Guitar last week hoping to indulge in something new, so I chose Electric Guitar as i've never played any other musical instrument before.

Basically I would like to know how some of you began playing, and possibly without a Guitar teacher, as I am learning on my own from video's and through this website and I'm picking it up but very slowly.

So the main reason ...

How do you think I should go about the first stages of learning a guitar? (Without a teacher.)

Thanks
Last edited by elseyjames at Aug 21, 2006,
check out the lessons on UG or any other guitar sites you can find, and just pick some easy sounding songs and find the tabs for them and give them a go, I think that's how most people teach themself around here...
Originally posted by Liamy
I kicked a puppy before, but only because it was really annoying.
Also I have an Electric Guitar and I know you are supposed to tune the Guitar but obviously I have no experience or know of how to go about it.
What sort of music do you listen to mostly and what sort of style are you trying to accomplish in your playing?
Watch out for FLOODS exploding onto the UK Deathcore scene this summer.
learn the basic chords

A G E D and C

TG
Fighting for peace, is like screwing for virginity

Screw you Waldo, go find yourself!!!!
Quote by TheFly_1990
i just downloaded GP5 and a whole lotta GP Tabs And Learned From That...

NOOOO! That is not a good idea. You don't just wan't to memorize a few songs- you want to learn things so you can make your own songs or variations of songs.

Like the guy above me said- Learn the basic open chords. This might be hard at first- I reccomend before diving into those to make up a few little one or two string riffs (smoke on the water, iron man, etc) to help you get aquainted with the fret board. After you are pretty comfortable with those, go to the Lesson section here on UG and look at basic open chords.

Welcome to Guitar- it's about the greatest thing in the world